Download Wicket releases

Apache Wicket 6.20.0 is the current stable release. Most users get Apache Wicket using Apache Maven’s dependency management, which incidentally is the most convenient way of obtaining the latest and greatest Wicket.


New projects should use Wicket 6.20.0 as their base.

We recommend you start with our latest stable release.

Developer releases

If you like to live on the cutting edge and help development of Wicket further along, you can try out the development milestone releases:

  • Latest development milestone release for 7.x: 7.0.0-M6

This release is not fit for production use yet: it is only intended for developers of Wicket, or for people trying out our development versions. API changes will occur between releases.


Java version

  • Apache Wicket 7.x requires JDK 7.0 or newer
  • Apache Wicket 6.x requires JDK 6.0 or newer
  • Apache Wicket 1.5.x requires JDK 1.5 or newer
  • Apache Wicket 1.4.x requires JDK 1.5 or newer

Mixing Wicket versions

You cannot mix different Wicket versions in your project. You should always use the artifacts from a particular release train.

For example it is NOT possible to use Wicket Extensions 1.5 in a Wicket 6 project. The same goes for 3rd party libraries: make sure you always use a compatible version of your 3rd party library.


You cannot use Wicket without adding an SLF4J logging implementation to your classpath. Most people use log4j.

If you do, just include slf4j-log4j12.jar on your classpath to get Wicket to use log4j too. If you want to use commons-logging or JDK14 logging or something else, please see the SLF4J site for more information.

Migrating from earlier versions

If you are migrating an existing application from earlier versions of Wicket you may find our migration guides invaluable:


Add the following snippet to your Maven project descriptor (pom.xml):


For the SLF4J log4j binding:


SNAPSHOTs and latest bleeding-edge code

If you wish to build the latest code from scratch, master and branches live in the Git repository:


  • 7.x: master
  • 6.x: wicket-6.x
  • 1.5.x: wicket-1.5.x
  • 1.4.x: wicket-1.4.x
  • 1.3.x: wicket-1.3.x
  • 1.2.x: wicket-1.2.x

There’s also a Maven 2 repository providing SNAPSHOTs available here:

        <name>Apache Snapshot Repository</name>